Book reviews Fantasy

Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone

Lakesedge

About the Book – Lakesedge

A lush gothic fantasy about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake. Perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer.

There are monsters in the world.

When Violeta Graceling arrives at haunted Lakesedge estate, she expects to find a monster. She knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

There are monsters in the woods.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake. A creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn…

There’s a monster in the shadows, and now it knows my name.

Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Goodreads Page

There are junctures in the book where something so out of the blue happens that it spikes the flow of the book. But then again it is like a sudden jump in the ECG of a dying person, ultimately going into flatline.

Read on for our review of the book

Our Review of Lakesedge

I fell for the cover. I did and I didn’t even care what the whole book was about. Fortunately, it wasn’t a bad decision. I can see why many readers may not find this an exciting one because it is kind of dark. When I say dark, I don’t mean the subject of the book but the mood of the book. It can be kind of depressing. After all, everybody is dying in the book. So it can’t get more cheery than that. But then again when the book has a Gothic theme written all over it, what do you expect? Lakesedge is what I would call an acquired taste 😝.  

Well, the book has a particular vibe to it and depending upon the mood you are in, the book might be exciting or depressing. For me, the book came to me at a stage where I had an overdose of candy floss romance and almost slipped into a reading slump. So suddenly the book made me all curious, first with its cover and then with the way the story kept moving.

Let me just say that I am not a big fan of the characters and I have my reasons but I liked the book and did find it pretty exciting. As I said, the book does have a monochrome mood. But in the context of the plot and theme, I think it pretty much justifies and does create that ambience. There is so much darkness 🤫

There are junctures in the book where something so out of the blue happens that it spikes the flow of the book. But then again it is like a sudden jump in the ECG of a dying person, ultimately going into flatline.🤭 oops I think I went a little too deep. Well, the fact is that the book has its bright and dull moments but to me, there were enough bright moments to make this an enjoyable read. I felt that for a book that was telling the stories of some dark characters, it was pretty nice and exciting. I especially loved the second half of the book where things were getting pretty darker and twisted.

Conclusion

So in conclusion, I would say that perhaps the book might not be everybody’s flavour because it has a melancholic vibe to it. But for the very same reason, I found the book thrilling exciting and enjoyable. I felt that the book had an amazing pace, although linear, but with eventful and meaningful moments. 

Squirrel Rating

Squirrel Rating- 4 Stars
Spread the love

You may also like...

1 Comment

  1. […] Recommendation1. The drowning Kind2. Lakesedge3. The Dead and the […]

Comments are closed.