Book reviews Thriller

How to Kill Your Family by Bella Mackie

How to Kill your family

About the Book- How to Kill your Family

I have killed several people (some brutally, others calmly) and yet I currently languish in jail for a murder I did not commit.

When I think about what I actually did, I feel somewhat sad that nobody will ever know about the complex operation that I undertook. Getting away with it is highly preferable, of course, but perhaps when I’m long gone, someone will open an old safe and find this confession. The public would reel. After all, almost nobody else in the world can possibly understand how someone, by the tender age of 28, can have calmly killed six members of her family. And then happily got on with the rest of her life, never to regret a thing.

When Grace Bernard discovers her absentee millionaire father has rejected her dying mother’s pleas for help, she vows revenge, and sets about to kill every member of his family. Readers have a front row seat as Grace picks off the family one by one – and the result is as and gruesome as it is entertaining in this wickedly dark romp about class, family, love… and murder.

But then Grace is imprisoned for a murder she didn’t commit.

Outrageously funny, compulsive and subversive, perfect for fans of Killing Eve and My Sister, the Serial Killer. 

Goodreads Page

Unfortunately, this book is not a handbook to kill your family, if you are thinking, the same as I did when picking up the book. But the book does blow my mind at every point. From the very first chapter, the book just keeps throwing curveballs at you.

Read on for our review of the book

Our Review of How to kill your family

Tell me that the title of the book doesn’t pique your curiosity. Of course, it does. That is the reason why I picked it up and maybe on the off chance that it could give some useful tips.😜 Don’t worry !! 🤨 Unfortunately, this book is not a handbook to kill your family, if you are thinking, the same as I did when picking up the book. But the book does blow my mind at every point. From the very first chapter, the book just keeps throwing curveballs at you. There is nothing predictable about the book, How to kill your family, and that’s the best kind of book you could ever pick up.


I have listened to the audiobook of the book and the book just kept stirring my grey cells, not because the book spoke some ingenious murdering technique but the way the author visualised and created the plot. When you read the book, you would feel that this is such a cunning story. It feels so plausible and yet out of the world stuff. I, in general, loved the book for its brilliant plot development and narration.


I know I have been spreading roses in the path of the book, but it doesn’t mean that the book is without its faults. Well as much as the plot is very engaging and keeps you on your toes, there are at times when you feel that the narration is becoming linear and a bit straight line (read a bit long and boring) but don’t worry these come in between major plot twists so it is completely forgivable. The other thing is that the central character may be a bit too judg-ey and talkative 😛 but considering some of the stuff she perceives and tells are shocking hard truths, this too is acceptable and forgiving. So I think that cancels out all the negatives then. 🧐 

For me, the book is truly one of a kind psychological thriller. A truly entertaining and engaging one. Anybody who has read the book might agree with me that the ending of the book completely topples the book upside down and in a good way. It is like everything you had read so far just completely was a trick on you.

Conclusion

In conclusion, I would say that this book is one of a kind book. This is one psychological thriller that would leave you with a massive book hangover. If not for nothing, you should try this book for the way the book twists everything in the end because it just completely overpowers everything you had experienced in the book.

Squirrel Rating

Squirrel Rating- 5 Star

Book Recommendation
1. The Good Lie by A.R. Torre
2
. The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner
3. House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

Spread the love

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *