Book Review : The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle definitely opens with heavy action and with a loud band. The seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is another Bourne identity syndrome. Waking up with complete memory loss and through the course of book trying to reveal the back stories

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle Official Synopsis

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle RWAT Take

The best part about books with central characters waking up with a loss of memory is that you can take part in the fun of unraveling the story and it adds to the fun of glueing pieces together along with the main character and making the jist of the whole plot.

The book opens to a major event and then gradually moving up. The language has its ups and downs. The narrator language is simple but adorned with adjectives impressively but then when we come to the dialogues of the characters, it is a bit odd with the beauty of the narration language evidently not as much as visible and a lot of colloquial slangs and mannerisms

While undoubtedly the book travels through a roller coaster ride to tell its story, sometimes it can be exhaustive too trying to grab on everything that has been happening in the book. The book has a very monotone vibe to it. While incidents of the book keeps it exciting but the basic flow in terms of writing and narration tends to travel in a straight line and can prove to be a bit lack lustre at times. Especially when you are reading the book on a stretch

Conclusion

In all, the book has an amazing twisted and coiled plot which unravels quite interestingly through the journey of the book and it definitely will get your brain cell churning

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *